### MINUTES FOUNTAIN COUNTY COUNCIL FEBRUARY 10, 2020 9:00 A.M.

The following Fountain County Council members were present at the meeting: Dudley Cruea, Tom Booe, Joe Whittington, Jim McKee and Bill Glover. Dale Clawson and Jim Hershberger were absent.

### MINUTES

A motion was made by Tom Booe and seconded by Bill Glover to approve the minutes of the January 20, 2020 meeting as presented. Vote: 4-0

# Veedersburg Economic Development Commission - Appointment

A motion was made by Joe Whittington and seconded by Jim McKee to appoint **Tom Booe** to the Veedersburg Economic Development Commission for 2020.

Vote: 4-0

## Report of Collections - as submitted: Ambulance, Clerk, Health Dept., Recorder, Prosecutor, Sheriff

## Review & Acknowledge Treasurer's Bank Reconciliation and Monthly Comparison Report of Funds

A motion was made by Bill Glover and seconded by Joe Whittington to acknowledge the Treasurer's Bank Reconciliation for Jan. 31, 2020 and Monthly Comparison Report of Funds. Vote: 5-0

# **COMMISSIONERS – Courthouse / New Jail**

Craig Stalter and Don Hesler spoke about updates on the Jail and how the electrical part of the Jail is getting close to being completed. There has been some damage to the new kitchen due to Muriatic Acid being put into the lines and getting all over the stainlesssteel appliances which caused the appliances to rust. Glesco has been notified and they are coming to the Jail to assess the damages. The Health Department may not approve the opening of the kitchen due to this issue.

The Sheriff's department has hired jailers and they are needing to be trained at the new Jail. It was suggested that if the courthouse needed help with anything that they could come over here to work in the meantime. They are hoping that the new staff can start training at the new facility on February 24, 2020.

# New Jail Construction in progress \$9,387,328.23 as of 12/31/2019

Interest paid – 1/15/2020 - \$283,496.89 7/15/2019 - \$283,496.89 1/15/2019 - \$354,371.09

Furnishings Costs - \$131,451.36

Principle payment \$590,000 due July 1, 2020

# Community Crossing Grant Funds – transfer of funds

A motion was made by Jim McKee and seconded by Tom Booe to approve the Auditor transferring funds from 9101 Community Crossing Grant Fund to 1176 MVH Fund for reimbursement. Vote: 5-0

# 133

### **DEPARTMENT HEAD REPORTS**

#### **EMA - Joe Whitaker**

There is a LEPC Meeting at noon and a board meeting at 4pm on Thursday, February 13, 2020. All Council and Commissioners are welcome to attend.

### Transfers – COUNTY GENERAL – COMMISSIONERS

\$6,262.50 From 1000-0068-33860 Juvenile Housing Costs To 1000-0068-33850 Out of County Jail Cost

This is to cover the Warren County out of County Jail costs for January 2020. A motion was made by Tom Booe and seconded by Joe Whittington to approve the \$6,262.50 transfer. Vote: 5-0

### Transfers – LIT PUBLIC SAFETY

\$10,000.00 From 1170-0380-16000 Vacation & Sick

To 1170-0380-14000 Overtime

Correctional Officer are now being paid out of overtime for 2019 OT work, officer staying with hospitalized inmate, and shift coverage for 5-Jail School attendees. A motion was made by Jim McKee and seconded by Bill Glover to approve the \$10,000 transfer. Vote: 5-0

### Encumbrances - Circuit Court

Brenda has spoken to the Judge and the issue has been resolved over the encumbrance requests. The Judge is going to wait until later in the year and ask for an additional appropriation if needed.

### **COVERED BRIDGE – re-establish tax rate for Cum Bridge for 2021**

The Council would like to re-establish Cum Bridge tax rates to collect .005 for the covered bridges and reduce the Health Fund by that amount so that the taxes aren't increasing for the taxpayers. This will need to be done by April 30, 2020. A motion was made by Tom Booe and seconded by Jim McKee to approve re-establishing the CUM BRIDGE tax rate for 2021. Vote: 5-0

#### THE NEXT MEETING WILL BE MARCH 9, 2020 AT 9:00 A.M.

A motion was made by Tom Booe and seconded by Bill Glover to adjourn the meeting. Vote: 5-0

enta H

James Hershberger Tom Booe Jøe Whittington

Jim McKee

Dale Clawson

Bill Glover